Posted by: muugrscholars | June 18, 2007

Week 1 Recap: Annie Binder (MUURS Intern)

“During my first week, I met the undergraduate research staff and the other students in my program. I spent a lot of time in the library and put together a bibliography which my mentor later supplemented with other reading suggestions. I began to read and take notes on my materials. I also started contacting poets and media artists and interviewing them about their works as related to my research. My goals for the summer are to stay focused and document my findings in the history and theory of my topic as well as create films that will appealingly communicate poetry to others. The MUURS program seemed like a great opportunity to do a fairly independent research project in a topic of interest to me. It is also a program that is open to creative as well as research achievements allowing me to challenge myself and approach a subject from various angles.”
Annie Binder, MU Senior, English Major
Mentor: Dr. Nancy West

Leave a Reply

Categories

