Posted by: lblockus | June 25, 2007

Dr. B’s Travels to New York (CUR Meeting)

“Last week I combined a business trip with a short visit to my sister and my brand new nephew. Hope everyone had a productive time while I was away!My first stop was in Cortland, New York to visit my younger sister Lisa, her husband Rich and her new son “TJ” (short for Thomas Jacob). He was less than two weeks old and still very small (but newborns tend to be that way!) Although small, he has a healthy set of lungs that got a work out while I was there…I forgot how much babies can cry!

Lindababy-Small

I then drove to Clinton, New York to the campus of Hamilton College to participate in the annual business meeting for the Council on Undergraduate Research (www.cur.org). I am an elected councilor for the Undergraduate Research Program Directors division. In addition to attending to the business of the organization, it was also an opportunity to network, visit with colleagues, and work on a paper co-written with two other program directors on “building community among undergraduate researchers”. The campus was beautiful, but it was COLD….50-70 degrees! CUR holds its business meetings and conferences on college campuses, which gives us a chance to live in the dorms and eat in the cafeteria. Aside from being inexpensive, it reminds us of what it is like to be a college student. Hamilton has a beautiful new science building and a campus pub that was the nightly gathering spot!”

Cur Meeting-Small

Leave a Reply

Categories

